All-NET 1A-3A team includes four 'Landers

from staff reports

   Led by the Offensive Player of the Year winner Mark Byrd, Cloudland put four players on this year's Tennessee Sportswriters Association All-Northeast Tennessee 1A-3A football team.
   Rushing for 1,482 yards and 25 touchdowns on 93 carries, Byrd added 963 yards and seven TDs on 49-of-68 passing. The senior, a Mr. Football award winner, was also voted to the team at the quarterback position.
   Other Highlanders on the team are fellow Mr. Football award winner Dane Christman (142 tackles, 6 sacks) at linebacker, Jeff Lunsford on the offensive line and Dakota Benfield (1,624 yards, 26 touchdowns rushing) at running back. All three players are seniors.
   Happy Valley's Stan Ogg, after leading his team to a 9-1 regular-season finish, received Coach of the Year accolades. Three of his players earned spots on the team -- senior Daniel Dover, offensive line; senior Tim Whaley (1,185 yards rushing, 18 TDs), running back; and junior Drew Davis (7 interceptions), defensive back.
   Hampton had two players make the squad, with Unaka placing one player on the team.
   For the Bulldogs, senior fullback Justin Waycaster (841 yards, 7 TDs rushing) seized one of the running back slots while senior Adam Potter got a spot on the offensive line.
   Charles Lee Guinn, a Unaka sophomore who carried the ball 132 times for 1,118 yards and 18 touchdowns this season, made the squad as a running back.