Milligan set for national meet

  By Rebecca Pierson
  Asst. Sports Editor

  The Milligan College cross country teams are winding down to the wire this weekend when they travel to E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky. for the 49th Annual Men's and 25th Annual Women's NAIA Cross Country National Championships.
  The event is hosted by the Greater Louisville Sports Commission. The event begins Saturday at 10:30 a.m. for the women's 5k, and the men's 8k run begins at 11:30 a.m.
  Earlier this month, the women's team defensed thier 2003 Appalachian Athletic Conference/Region 12 cross country title in Louisville while the men finished in second place behind Berea College.
  Standout Megan Lease took the women's individual title with a time of 18:15 while Marta Zimon finished second overall in 19:10. Freshman Jessica Carpenter finished sixth overall with a time of 19:54.
  All three of them earned the All-Conference and All-Region honors. Lease was named Region 12 Runner of the Year.
  For the men, Chris Wright placed fourthoverall with a time of 25:43, his fastest time ever on that particular course. Wright and teammate Nathan Bowers both earned individual spots to the nationals on Saturday.
  Wright was named All-Conference and All-Region, while Bowers and Josh Ferry earned secont team All-Region honors for Milligan.
  Kortney Goulds was named to the AAC women's All-Freshman Team and Seth Harkins won the same honors for the men's squad.
  Milligan head coach Chris Layne was named AAC and Region 12 Women's Coach of the Year.
  While the women earned a team birth into the tournament, other Region 12 individual qualifiers include: Izabela, Luckiewicz of Berea College; Laura Koob of Tennessee Wesleyan; Anna Garriott of Convenant; and Danielle Deines and Nicole Vullo of Brevard.
  Virginia Intermont took the team qualification for the national tournament out of the region. Wright and Bowers will be competing against three other Region 12 runners from Berea College: Matthew Schenk, Zachary Holbert and David Webster.