Central takes 1-AA title

staff report
The final night of the District 1-AA volleyball tournament ended with Sullivan Central as the winner.
After losing their undefeated status to Sullivan North (25-18, 12-25, 20-25, 23-25), the Lady Cougars rebounded during the next game of five sets to win the tournament.
North loomed as the probable champions after the first two sets, which they won 25-19 and 25-16, but Central took the last three with scores of 25-20, 25-17, and 15-11.
The tournament ended with Sullivan Central as the first-place team, Sullivan North in second place, Volunteer in third, Johnson County in fourth, and Elizabethton in fifth.
An awards ceremony was held immediately after the tournament during which the all-conference and all-district players were recognized.
The all-conference team includes the following players: Christina Caflisch - Central, Julie LeSueur - Central, Meghan Reed - Central, Elizabeth Shelton - Central, Arissa Vaughn - North, Shyan Redmond - North, Amanda Frazier - North, Brittany Mabe - Volunteer, Ashleah Dykes - Volunteer, Ryann Tillman - Johnson County, Elena Owens - Johnson County, Brandi Forbes - Elizabethton. Honorable Mention was given to Miranda Dishman - Central, Candice Sweet - North, Steevie Caldwell - Volunteer, Laura Peters - Johnson County, and Jennie Powell - Elizabethton.
Brittany Mabe received the Player of the Year award, Amanda Frazier received Hitter of the Year, Christina Caflisch received Setter of the Year, Laura Peters received Defensive Player of the Year, and Vicki McGlothlin was named Coach of the Year.
Members chosen for the all-district team are as follows: from Central, Elizabeth Shelton, who was named MVP, Christina Caflisch, Miranda Dishman, and Meghan Reed; from North, Amanda Frazier, Arissa Vaughn, and Lindsey Vaughn; from Volunteer, Brittany Mabe and Ashleah Dykes; from Johnson County, Ryann Tillman and Elena Owens; and from Elizabethton, Brandi Forbes.