Five area football players selected to play in Shrine All-Star Classic

from staff reports
MURFREESBORO -- Five area high school football players have been selected to play in the eighth annual Tennessee Shrine East-West All-Star Classic on Saturday, June 26.
The game will be played at 7 p.m., at Middle Tennessee State University's Floyd Stadium in Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Dane Christman and Mark Byrd from Cloudland High School, Lester Bailey from Elizabethton High School, Eric White from Tennessee High School and Timothy Whaley from Happy Valley are among 80 players selected to participate in the game and will represent the East team.
The graduating seniors were nominated by their coaches and selected based upon their athletic performance during their four years in high school. Coaches from every high school in the state were allowed to nominate players from their own school.
A committee of coaches, in addition to West Committee Chairman Glen Campbell and East Committee Chairman Murphy Fair were responsible for selecting the players. The chairmen chose the coaching staffs for the East and West teams.
Tim Taylor from Marion County High School is head coach of the East team, while Kevin Locastro from Christian Brothers High School, will lead the West team.
The East and West squads will report to the Tennessee National Guard Training Center in Smyrna, Tenn., on Sunday, June 20 for two-a-day practices to prepare for the game. The East and West teams will hold separate practices at Smyrna High School and LaVergne High School, respectively. Other activities during the week include a chicken wing-eating contest, a tour of the Tennessee Titans' Coliseum and dinner with children who have received medical care from Shriners Hospitals for Children.