Trophies achieves top regular-season honors   

By Tim Chambers

  What was supposed to be a five-inning contest turned into a seven-inning classic this past weekend for the Jr. Babe Ruth regular-season championship.
  David's Trophies rallied from an 8-4 deficit to knock off Moose 9-8 and win the title outright.
  The Bullwinkles jumped out to an early 3-0 advantage when Jeff Peters led off with a single and later scored on an RBI hit by Daniel Shankle. Brooks Price added a double that brought home Shankle, and Price later scored on a hit by Terry Campbell for a 3-0 lead.
  Moose added two in the second thanks to singles from Dexter Price, Peters and Shankle for a 5-1 advantage. The plaque attack refused to fold, scratching and clawing its way for a solo run in the second and two more in the third to slice the lead to 5-4.
   Cody Marley was able to reach on an error, a walk and fielder's choice, and scored each time. Singles by Scott Burleson and Brandon Medina, and a double by Matt Rasnick aided the Giant offense.
  Moose tacked on three in the fourth when Peters walked and Shankle singled for Price, whose rope to left center was good for two RBIs. Price later scored on a line-drive base hit from Jonathan Canady.
  The Trophies refused to allow Moose to engrave them a headstone, scoring four in the fourth to tie the contest. Blake Russell walked while Chris Pierce walked. A triple by Carpenter and a double from Burleson tied the score at eight.
  Manager C.Y. Peters brought in Canady to relieve Peters, who had pitched his limit on innings. Canady got out of a major jam in the sixth, getting a ground out with the bases loaded.
  The roof caved in for Moose in the seventh as three walks and a hit batsman allowed the plaque attack to push across the winning run.
  Marley went the distance to earn the win while Canady took the loss in relief. Burleson banged out two hits in leading David's while Carpenter, Medina and Rasnick had the only other hits for the plaque attack.
  Marley reached base four times while Aaron Bradford and Medina were on three times.
  Daniel Shankle led Moose by going 3 for 4 while Jeff Peters and Brooks Price where 2 for 3. Price added three RBIs.
  "Our kids showed what it takes to be a champion," stated David's Trophies coach Charlie Bradford. "They could have quit when they got down but battled back time and time again.
  "I am proud of what they have accomplished. This is a good group of boys."
  Tetrick's Marlins 8
  Elizabethton Herb & Metal Reds 6
  Tetrick's led 7-2 going into the final frame before Elizabethton Herb & Metal put on a valiant comeback that fell one run short.
  Jeremy "Mad Dog" Hall went the distance to earn the win for the Marlins while Dylan Shallcross took the loss.
  Jermey Sommers went 2 for 2 to pace Tetrick's while Josh Hardin added a 2-for-3 performance. Brandon Cole, J.D. Scalf, John Robinson and Marcus Hill chipped in with one hit each.
  Shallcross had two hits to lead the Reds while Nick Payne collected the only other hit.
  All the remaining games were canceled due to rain.