Lady Warriors place five players on All-NET team

from staff reports

   The Happy Valley Lady Warrior softball team had one of its best seasons in school history this year, and it's showing in the postseason honors.
   Lady Warrior stars Kortney Goulds, Alicia Dick, Kate Powell, Mandy Byrd and Leanna Howell each made the Tennessee Sportswriters Association All-NET team, which was announced Monday.
   Other locals making the squad include Johnson County standout Andrea McQueen, Unaka's Danielle Williams and Elizabethton's Sarah Smith.
   Unicoi County's Beth Haun was named Player-of-the-Year, while Lady Blue Devil coach Charlie Baxter earned Coach-of-the-Year honors.
   Local players receiving honorable mentions were Julie Roberson and Jessica Moffitt of Unaka, and Nicole Huggins of Hampton.
   Despite winning conference, district and regional titles in 1-A, University High did not land a player on the team. Duff Reardon and Cori McVeight made the honorable mention list.
   Unicoi had the most players on the squad with six -- Danielle Huskins, Wendi Woods, Stephanie Byrd, Haun, Jenni Peterson and Rachel Edwards.