Lady Cyclones overpower 'Horns

from staff reports

   MOUNTAIN CITY -- Brandi Fairman pitched a near flawless-game leading Elizabethton to a 12-1 win over Johnson County on Monday in a contest that was stopped after five innings.
   Fairman (5-5) threw the entire five innings, facing 22 batters. The EHS hurler registered nine strikeouts, while giving up three hits, only one walk and no earned runs.
   The Lady Cyclones provided plenty of offensive fireworks, as Sarah Smith, Brittany Hilton, Michelle Collins and Stephanie Cline each had two hits. Smith scored three runs, Hilton scored two and added a sacrifice. Collins had 2 RBIs and Cline added one.
   With the win, Elizabethton improves to 10-13 overall and 5-6 in the Watauga Conference. They return to action today in a doubleheader with Hampton at home.


from staff reports

   Pitcher Tyler Blevins gave up only two hits in leading Carter County Bank to an 8-2 win over Cash Express in National Little League action on Monday night. Cain McWalters was 2-for-2 for the winning team, with Chase Depew, Isaiah Osborne and Cody Buck each going 1-for-2.
   CCB broke open the game with a six-run outburst in the fourth inning. This offset a great pitching effort by Cash's Drew Chambers, who had 11 strikeouts. C.J. Campbell batting 1-for-1 and Logan Schultz going 1-for-2 were the offensive leaders for Cash Express.
   6-Sigma took the nightcap 6-2 over Grindstaff Motors with Wendall Loving picking up the win. Jake Howell was 1-for-1 in the 6-Sigma win, with Korey Hardin and Logan Loving each 1-for-2.
   Grindstaff hoped to motor on by behind Ethan Fleenor on the mound, but only cranked out four hits. Ethan Richardson had two hits with Drew Clark and Jerry Berkley getting the other hits.


   East Tennessee State upended top-seeded Furman 4-2 to capture the Southern Conference Men's Tennis Championship in Charleston, S.C. Sunday.
   With the victory, ETSU claimed their fifth league title and earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships. The victory avenged last year's Furman 4-1 win over the Bucs.
   ETSU's Marcos Pavolovich set the tone early beating conference Player-of-the-Year John Chesworth 6-4, 6-4 in the No. 1 slot. Roberto Fernandez clinched the match in the No. 2 title, rallying from behind to defeat James Cameron.
   Alejandro Salazar and Moises Serrano posted wins at the No. 5 and No. 6 sports with Serrano named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player after clinching a semifinal win for ETSU and notching a point in the final.


   The College of Charleston earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships and won its first ever Southern Conference title Sunday at Furman University Golf Course.
   The Cougars beat the home-standing Paladin by five strokes in the final count with Georgia Southern eight strokes back of the leader and East Tennessee State finishing 13 strokes behind.
   Individual honors went to Charleston's Daniel Brunson with his score of -11 good enough to beat Furman's Kirk Satterfield by three strokes.
   Honors were handed out on Sunday with Furman's Matt Davidson winning Coach of the Year, Todd Satterfield named Coach of the Year and Georgia Southern's Aron Price awarded Freshman of the Year. James Johnson of ETSU was one of eight golfers selected to the all-conference team.


   Elizabethton's Sean Bowers rode his 1999 Kawasaki to a win over Rogersville's Frank Dishner to take the Kawasaki Cup win in Sunday's International Drag Bike Association Thunder Nationals at Bristol Dragway.
   Bowers had an elapsed time of 11.336 seconds and 122.96 miles per hour in the finals compared with Dishner's 12.448 seconds and 101.60 miles per hour.
   Other local winners included Tommy Lane of Jonesborough, who took Pro Box honors with a win over Scott Lee of Morristown. Piney Flats' Jerry Turner rode his 1981 Honda to the Honda title making a single run in the finals and posting a speed of 100.55 mph.
   Elizabethton's George Richmond barely missed becoming the fourth local winner in the ProNoBox division, losing in the finals to Gerald Douglas of Lexington, Ky., who cut a 143.61 mph pass.