Milligan opens indoor season at Niswonger Invite

from staff reports

   The Milligan College men's and women's track teams open up the 2004 indoor track season this weekend at the Niswonger Invitational hosted on ETSU's David E. Walker Track.
   Freshmen Josh Ferry (Bloomington, IN) and Sean Bowman (Nashville, IN) will lead the way for the men's squad in the 800 meter final and mile run final, respectively.
   Ferry, one of the fastest high prepsters in the nation indoors last year, will also run the 800 meter leg on the distance medley relay. Bowman, a high school state finalist in the mile, will run the anchor leg of the relay.
   Joining Ferry and Bowman on the relay will be sophomore Chris Wright (Baltimore, MD) and junior Trevor Donovan (Rochester, NY). Wright will run the 5,000 meter final and Donovan the 800 meters.
   Rounding out the men's squad will be former Volunteer High standout Brandon Talbert, who is scheduled to compete in the 3,000 meters. Science Hill grad Jair Collie will sit out this weekend due to illness, but should be ready to compete next weekend at Appalachian State.
   Indoor national champion Marta Zimon (Lodz, Poland) leads the Lady Buffs and will be joined by sophomore All-American Megan Lease (Camden, NC), and junior Lauren Gross (Roanoke, VA) in the final of the women's 5,000 meters.
   Freshman Allison Langrel, an all-state track standout at Daniel Boone High School, will make her collegiate debut in the women's 400 meter prelims on Friday night. Amber Peace (Knoxville) will run the women's 3,000 meters.
   Zimon, Lease, Langrel and Peace will make up the women's distance medley relay.
   The Lady Buffs finished 20th in the nation at the 2003 NAIA National Championships.
   Milligan's competition schedule
   Friday, Jan. 23
   2 p.m. -- women's 400 meter prelims: Allison Langrel (FR)
   5:45 p.m. -- men's 800 meter final: Josh Ferry (FR)
   Saturday Jan. 24
   8 a.m. -- women's 5,000 meter final: Marta Zimon (SO), Megan Lease (SO), Lauren Gross (JR)
   10 a.m. -- women's 3,000 meter final: Amber Peace (FR)
   11 a.m. -- men's 3,000 meter final: Brandon Talbert (SO)
   Noon -- men's 800 meter final: Trevor Donovan (JR)
   4 p.m. -- women's distance medley relay final
   4:30 p.m. -- men's distance medley relay final
   7:25 p.m. -- men's mile final: Sean Bowman (FR)