Elections just around the corner

By Bob Robinson
Star Staff

   The 2002 elections are just around the corner.
   Tracy Harris, administrator of elections, and Laura Holtsclaw, assistant administrator, are gearing up for elections to fill 62 seats at county, city, state and federal levels of government.
   On Feb. 15, the Carter County Election Commission (CCEC) will release qualifying petitions for the Carter County General and State Primary Elections to be held Aug. 1.
   Petitions containing signatures of 25 registered voters living in the District must be filed with the CCEC by May 16. The last day to register to vote in the August election is July 1.
   On May 17, CCEC will release qualifying petitions for the City of Elizabethton General Election to be held Nov. 5.
   Petitions with 25 registered voters living in the City of Elizabethton must be filed with CCEC by Aug. 15. The last day to register to vote in the City and State General Election is Oct. 4.
   County offices to be filled in 2002 are County Executive, County Trustee, Sheriff, Circuit Court Clerk, County Clerk, Register of Deeds and Superintendent of Roads.
   Due to reapportionment of Carter County, Education Districts have been changed to mirror Commissioner and Constable Districts.
   There will be 24 seats on the Carter County Commission to be filled (three per district), 16 constables (two per district) and four seats on the Carter County School Board.
   One school board member will be elected from Districts 2, 3, 5 and 7, seats now held by Richard Winters, Jack Pearman and Ted Maxwell, respectively. District 7 is a new district.
   Two seats on the Elizabethton School Board and four seats on the Elizabethton City Council, both four-year terms, will be up for election in 2002.
   School Board seats are now held by Katherine Armstrong and Bob Berry. City Council seats are now held by Pat "Red" Bowers, Diane Morris, Janie McKinney and Sam McKinney.
   In the State Primary, seats to be filled are for Governor, U.S. House of Representative from the First Congressional District, Tennessee State Senate-Third Senatorial District, Tennessee House of Representatives-Fourth Legislative District and State Executive Committee-Third Senatorial District.
   Members of CCEC are Jerry K. Oliver, chairman, Sam Q. Ritchie, secretary, Mike Nave, Raymond Bautista and Phil Isaacs.
   Further information is available from CCEC by calling 423/542-1822, or by faxing 423/547-1534.