Early, absentee voters exceed 9,000

By Thomas Wilson
star staff

  Approximately 30 percent of the county's more than 31,500 registered voters have already cast their votes during early voting in person totals and absentee by mail ballots received by the Carter County Election Commission.
  The commission reported just over 8,900 citizens had voted in person during the early voting period, which ended last Thursday. The office also reported receiving over 600 absentee by mail ballots through Thursday for the Nov. 2 city, state, and federal election races. The commission mailed out over 700 absentee ballots.
  Early voting totals have already blown away the county's voter turnout for the entire August 2004 state primary and county general election. The Aug. 5 election brought out only 23 percent of the county's registered voters during early voting and the day of election combined.
  Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day. Voters should refer to their voter registration card for their voting district's polling locations.
  First District polling locations are Hunter Elementary School, 145 Hope St., for the Hunter precinct; the Buladeen Club House, State Route 91, for the Midway precinct; Unaka Elementary School, 1635 U.S. Hwy. 91, for the Unaka precinct.
  Second District voters in the Roan Mountain precinct will vote at Cloudland Elementary School, 8540 U.S. Hwy. 19E, Roan Mountain, and at Hampton High School, 766 First St., Hampton, for the Tiger Valley precinct.
  Voters in the 3rd District, Central precinct, can vote at Central Elementary School, 252 Taylortown Road; in the Keenburg precinct at Keenburg Elementary School, 139 Keenburg Road; at Range Elementary School, 655 Watauga Road, Watauga, for the Range precinct. Watauga precinct voters can vote at Watauga City Hall.
  Fourth District residents vote at the main courthouse in the courthouse precinct. East Side precinct voters cast their vote at East Side Elementary School, 800 Siam Road, and Siam precinct voters should go to Siam School, 2453 Siam Road.
  The 5th District polling location is at Happy Valley Elementary School, 1840 Milligan Hwy.
  Sixth District voters should go to Elk Mills Volunteer Fire Department, 107 Poga Road, Butler; Little Milligan Elementary School, 4226 U.S. Hwy. 321, Butler; Hampton Elementary School, 408 Hwy. 321, Hampton, and Valley Forge Elementary School, Riverview Drive, for their precinct locations.
  Seventh District residents should go to Happy Valley High School, 121 Warpath Lane, for the Gap Creek precinct and at West Side Elementary School, 1300 Burgie St., for the West Side precinct.
  Eighth District precincts are located at Harold McCormick Elementary School, South Cedar Street, for the Harold McCormick precinct, and at T.A. Dugger Jr. High School, 305 West E St., for the high school precinct.