State declared disaster

From Staff Reports

  President Bush on Thursday declared parts of Tennessee a major disaster area and ordered federal funding to supplement state and local recovery efforts from flooding that occurred on Sept. 16 to Sept. 20, according to a press release from the White House Press Secretary's office. Carter County is one of 13 counties designated to receive the funding.
  Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by storms and flooding in the counties of Campbell, Carter, Clay, Cocke, Cumberland, Grundy, Hamilton, Jackson, Johnson, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, and Roane.
  Federal funding is also available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
  Representing the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Michael D. Brown, undersecretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response, Department of Homeland Security, named Carlos Mitchell as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.
  The agency said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of more damage assessments.