Hazardous waste collection on Saturday

By Lesley Hughes
star staff

  Area landfills will be hosting household hazardous waste collections on Oct. 2 for residents of any Northeast Tennessee county.
  The Carter County location will be at Bemberg Recycling Center in Elizabethton. Johnson County residents can dump hazardous materials at the Johnson County Transfer station.
  The location for Sullivan County will be at Sullivan Central High School in the lower parking lot. Each collection site will be open from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  According to a press release, acceptable items will be "home chemicals, paint products, lawn and garden products, medicines, batteries, automotive chemicals, pool chemicals as well as new items such as computers, TVs and flourescent light bulbs up to 8-feet long. No medical wastes, explosives, or commercial or business generated items will be accepted at these events." Also accepted will be gasoline, kerosene, and rust/wood preservatives without PCBs.
  Only Tennessee residents are allowed to participate since the event is paid for through Tennessee residents' taxes.
  Each county holds a hazardous waste collection each year in an effort to remove the materials from the region and diminish the risk of human consumption or poison.
  Since 1994 the Appalachian Resource Conservation and Development Council has organized collections in all 6 counties on an annual basis. These collections have removed over one half million pounds of chemicals from over 10,000 households in the region.
  In other counties, the collections will be held in Greene County at Hal Henard Elementary, Washington County at Science Hill and the upper level of the Freedom Hall Plaza, and in Unicoi County at the Unicoi County Highway Garage on Oct. 16 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.