Colbaugh wins 1st district school board seat

By Lesley Hughes
star staff

  The school board race for the 1st Educational District is unofficially over. Voters of the First District chose Dale Colbaugh as the next school board member.
  He edged out Wayne Pierce in two of the three precincts - Midway, Unaka and Hunter. Unofficial numbers have Colbaugh winning by 223 votes. Only 811 citizens of the 4,198 registered voters in the 1st Educational District braved the constant rain to vote on Thursday, and 356 people voted in early voting and 33 by absentee ballot.
  After hearing the totals, Colbaugh said, "I am overwhelmed with peoples' support and I appreciate all the people that supported me. I am in this for the children and I am eager to help the board."
  One of his main objectives in representing the Stoney Creek and Unaka area is to "work hard at the job with board members and with the County Commission to get the County Commission to get a new high school in Unaka" and to also turn the current Unaka High School "into a junior high school," Colbaugh said.
  He admitted that 1st District schools need "remodeling and uplifting." Current school board members have requested over $30 million from the Carter County Commission to build two new schools in the county and to remodel another school's gymnasium to add middle school students into Cloudland Elementary School.
  Colbaugh is a Carter County native. He and his wife, Gloria, have two daughters, Amy, 16, and Hannah, 13, and reside at 124 Creekbank Rd. He is the son of JoAnn and the late Herbert Colbaugh.
  "I want to do the right thing that's best for the children in the 1st District. I want to work with the people involved to make it possible to get new schools and things we need in Stoney Creek," Colbaugh said.
  Three other districts had races for school board members. The 4th and 6th district races were unopposed with incumbent school board members, Daniel Holder in the 4th and Bobby R. McClain in the 6th elected to serve another four years.
  No candidate filed to run for the 8th District seat. Lee Morrow was the only qualified write-in candidate and received 55 votes. Photo of Lee Morrow was not available at press time.