Legislators Announce Forestry Grants

From Staff Reports

   NASHVILLE -- Senator Rusty Crowe (R-Johnson City) and Representatives David Davis (R-Johnson City) and Bob Patton (R-Johnson City) on Thursday announced four urban forestry grants for Washington County.
   "It's always great to see federal dollars come back into the district in the form of grants," stated Senator Crowe. "These urban forestry grants allow us to capitalize on what we already have in our communities by making them better, more beautiful, healthier, and safer which all has an added benefit of helping us market our part of the state as a destination for tourism, a leading industry in Tennessee."
   "This is really a total quality of life issue," stated Representative Davis. "These grants can also help improve the overall physical and economic environments in our communities."
   Four urban forestry grants for Washington County are listed as approved by Tennessee Agriculture Commissioner Ken Givens. They include $35,000 for the first year salary for an urban forestry crew foreman with the Point of Contact (POC) being Patrick Walding, Johnson City Forester. A $22,850 will continue the development of an arboretum, including Spanish Language brochures with the POC being Tim McDowell in the Department of BioScience at East Tennessee State University.
   Another $24,000 grant is for the second-year salary for an urban forester with the POC being Robert Browning, Jonesborough City Administrator. Also, a $5,000 grant is designated for tree planting with the POC being Patrick McCammon, Jonesborough City Forester.
   Urban forestry is a U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service funded program administered by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture to help cities and communities better manage their urban forest resources.
   According to the state Agriculture Department, well-managed trees in our urban environments help economic development, air quality, heat island effect, storm water control, water quality, and make our communities more livable.
   A member of the state forestry staff will be working with the points of contact to develop contracts and to clarify any items regarding the applications.
   Senator Crowe represents the Senate's 3rd District which includes Carter and Washington counties.
   Representative Davis represents the 6th District which includes Washington County. Representative Patton represents House District 7 which includes Washington County.