Roe defeats Jones; Mohon, Paduch win in JC Commission election

By Thomas Wilson

   JOHNSON CITY -- Johnson City voters sent two incumbents back to the City Commission while electing a newcomer over the sitting mayor in Tuesday's city election.
   According to unofficial election results from the Washington County Election Commission, Dr. David C. Roe defeated incumbent Mayor Duffie Jones for one of three at-large seats on the commission. Incumbent commissioners Peter Paduch and Dr. Ricky Mohon won two of three at-large seats on City Commission. The unofficial results were posted with all 23 county precincts reporting Tuesday night.
   Roe won his first term on City Commission leading the six-candidate field with 6,964 votes, according to unofficial results. Mohon received 5,445 votes while Paduch garnered 5,178 votes.
   Jones picked up 4,480 votes and Mitch Meredith took home 4,475 votes. Wayne Robertson finished 6th with 2,892 votes. Jones won her first term on the commission in 1999.
   The Election Commission reported 40 percent of the city's 25,950 registered voters turned out Tuesday.
   The win gave Paduch his third consecutive four-year term on the commission while Mohon won his second straight term.
The city's school board candidates -- incumbents Dr. Dick Manahan, Karen Smith and Marcy E. Walker -- returned unchallenged to their offices for three at-large seats on the school board. Manahan served as board chairman and Smith as vice chair for the past year. All election results are unofficial until certified by the county's election commission.
   Approximately 592 Carter County citizens were eligible to vote in the Johnson City election at the Watauga City Hall and Happy Valley Elementary School polling places.