War Memorial Committee finalizes plans

The Elizabethton/Carter County Veterans War Memorial Committee is finalizing plans to raise $125,000 in private donations and in-kind contributions for the Veterans War Memorial Park.
   The memorial, to honor 185 Carter Countians who died in combat in all wars, will be built at the corner of Pine Street and East Elk Avenue in Elizabethton.
   Deacon Bowers, committee chairman, said the names of Carter Countians who made the supreme sacrifice will be permanently inscribed on granite stones in the memorial.
   "This memorial will be something all veterans, their families and residents of our community can be proud of," Bowers said.
   A brochure, describing the proposed memorial and listing names of Carter Countians who died in combat, will be available soon.
   Committee members will distribute the brochure in the near future as the fund-raising campaign begins in earnest, Bowers said.
   Donations to the memorial are tax deductible. Checks should be made payable to the City of Elizabethton Veterans War Memorial Fund and mailed to the Office of Finance Director, Elizabethton City Hall, 136 S. Sycamore St., Elizabethton, TN 37643.
   In addition to Bowers, members of the committee are State Rep. Ralph Cole, State Sen. Rusty Crowe, Jeanette Hitchcock, Roy Merryman, David Ornduff, Bob Robinson, Sara Sellers and Sam Shipley.